Leadership Team

Vicar
(Vacant)

Curate
Rev Jo Purle

e-mail: jo.purle@stjohnsfolkestone.org
Tel: 01303 778 506

Jo joined us in July 2017, the day after she was ordained in Canterbury Cathedral. Before training in Bristol to be a priest, she worked as a specialist nurse in the kidney dialysis unit at Kent & Canterbury Hospital.

Church Warden
Peter Edwards

e-mail: peter.edwards@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Peter is a retired company director with a background in the newspaper industry in advertising. He is a Trustee of the Rainbow Centre, Folkestone, a Christian charity that helps localhomelesspeople and those in vulnerable housing situations.

Church Warden (Elect)
Linda Grieve

e-mail: linda.grieve@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Linda has been elected as our next warden.

Children's, Youth and Families Minister
Debra Lewis

email: debra.lewis@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Debra came to St John's from a Christian children's charity in Gillingham. She works 20 hours a week and is involved in running Sunday Fun for school-age children during our main church service, some school assemblies during the week and our Twiglets group on Thursdays.

Administrator
Becky Yan

Tel: 07712 341904 / 01303 246422
e-mail: admin@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Becky became administrator in April 2020, following an induction from the lovely Ruth Jones. She loves walking with her husband, Andy. She also enjoys Nepalese food and doting on her 2 cats, Bella and Smokey, who rule the roost in the Yan household.

   

Reader and Treasurer
Alex Finlow

e-mail: treasurer@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Alex is a CharteredAccountant who has worked for Mission Aviation Fellowship UK for more than 17 years. He became alicensed Reader in 2010. As well as wanting the church to haveexcellent stewardship, he enjoys leading, preaching and all forms ofworship.

Reader
Robert Grieve

e-mail: robert.grieve@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Robert spent nearly 40 years in the hotel and catering industry and has been a Reader for 32. He’s worked with older people for 11 years and is passionate about the care and social engagement of the over 60s. He loves walking, music, reading and collecting old coins.

Reader
Frances Morgan

e-mail: frances.morgan@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Frances was a missionary and teacher in Nigeria for 30 years and has been a lay reader for many years. She is interested in Christian Liturgy and worship. She enjoys crafts of every kind.

Reader
Joan Herbert

e-mail: joan.herbert@stjohnsfolkestone.org

Joan was licensed in Chelmsford Cathedral in 2006, and moved to Folkestone in 2018. The focus of her ministry is children and families, and whole church worship.